Web design – week 1.

Let the excursion into web design and all things Adobe begin.

Up until this week I hadn’t used photoshop since school, so embarrassingly enough class this week began with a frantic search for the ellipsis tool. Who knew that Adobe could hide it so well… (thought

Screen Shot 2013-05-13 at 15.20.48I’d add that i have now managed to find this ellipsis tool, along with a lovely flare tool which produces some   rather cool flares resemblant of planets – see below).

We’ve also been familiarising ourselves with Dreamweaver. Interestingly I’m finding Dreamweaver much easier to get to grips with on my MacBook, whilst using the design programs such as Illustrator and Photoshop is definitely aided by the use of the university pcs as they have a mouse (think I’ll invest in one for my laptop).

photoLot’s of thoughtful faces going on here.

The first section of our home assignment this week involved creating a banner. I don’t exactly know what my website is going to look like yet (I’m not sure an infographics website would need too much of a bold header as it might be best to let the graphics themselves stand out). So, I practiced using a picture of the universe.

The original image looked like this…

Screen Shot 2013-05-13 at 15.27.09

Screen Shot 2013-05-13 at 15.36.24

I thought it’d look better if all of the planets except Earth were desaturated, but actually this looked a little dull. So I added another layer and was able to desaturate everything except the Sun and Earth.

As I said earlier, I don’t think my website will have a conventional banner. The nature of the website means that I want the website to be more design-based than your typical website.

For example where a company or retail website e.g.

Screen Shot 2013-06-27 at 20.55.13

has a banner to let the user navigate (and also to let everyone know that there is a sale happening), my website won’t have a very complicated structure and won’t need the same, conventional type of banner. Although, it will obviously need a simple way for users to navigate.

 

One thought on “Web design – week 1.

  1. Pingback: MN Web Design Community Talks Dreamweaver | MN Career Planner

Leave a Reply

